University of Notre Dame IN

Founded in 1842, the University of Notre Dame is an independent, national Catholic university. The University is organized into four undergraduate colleges (Arts and Letters, Science, Engineering, and the Mendoza College of Business), the School of Architecture, the Law School, the Graduate School, six major research institutes, more than 40 centers and special programs, and the University Library system. The source of the University's academic strength is its faculty, which since 1988 has seen the addition of some 500 members and the establishment of more than 150 new endowed professorships. At Notre Dame, education always has been linked to values, among them living in community and volunteering in community service.