American University DC

A global outlook, practical idealism, a passion for public service: They're part of American University (AU) today, and they were in the air in 1893, when AU was chartered by Congress. American University is a private doctoral institution situated in a residential neighborhood of northwest Washington, D.C. Our total fall 2008 enrollment was 12,186, with 6,023 degree-seeking undergraduates, 3,297 degree-seeking graduate students, 1,667 law students, and 1,199 students in nondegree certificate programs, Washington Semester, or AU Abroad. AU has six major schools and colleges: College of Arts and Sciences, Kogod School of Business, School of Communication, School of International Service, School of Public Affairs, and Washington College of Law.